God the Builder

Yesterday I visited Depo Bangunan for the first time, to get some screw plugs and…ohmygosh! seriously, if they’d sell ice creams and cotton candy at the entrance, i could have imagined myself being in an amusement park…sort of…but I had an amazing time strolling down the aisles of tools, locks, panels, paints, doorknobs…gardening sections!! Then I started to wonder what’s so fascinating about places like this. Maybe it’s  something about the human instinct to build and create. (I don’t know if this is a scientific fact =p)

But there is a lot in the Bible where God talks about ‘building’. And a very famous passage in Matthew 16:18 where Jesus said : “…on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.”

God is a creator and a builder. And I believe He is not only creating something in each of us, but altogether He uses each of us as a living stone to build His church, where He is the foundation. It’s the one building that matters. Few weeks ago I was convicted by Heb 3:4 that says “For every house has a builder, but the One who build everything is God…” I think this has been a re-occurring theme these days.

Furthermore, God reminded me about my BIG prayer/vision from 2 yrs ago which I got from Isaiah 58. It is a well known passage about ‘true fasting’. But what stood out for me that time when I was praying for vision and trying to connect things with the passion and burden God laid in my heart was verses 10-12, that says : “Your people will rebuild the ancient ruins and will raise up the age-old foundations; you will be called Repairer of Broken Walls, Restorer of Streets with Dwellings.”

I remembered reading that awesome line repeatedly and these verses really woke something up in me. I really want to be that kind of person. I want to be a builder. But since that day, God has done a lot of work in me because my old sinful nature was so used to saying things or behaving in ways that are more likely to bring others down, make sarcastic remarks, be negative, etc. Even now I am still a work in progress. I am aware that while God is in the business of building, the devil is in the business of destroying whatever God builds and I can let myself be used for either. So I’m thankful that today God brought this back in my mind to continue to work on, and pray for. This is why ‘community’ makes so much sense to me because we get to learn to build one another up, even as I try to connect this with my commitment to grow in leadership and discipleship. From today’s BRP in 1 John 3 God reminds us again of his command to love one another. “Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth. This is how we know that we belong to the truth and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence.” (v.9-10)

Paul taught us in 1 Cor 3:9 that we are God’s building and in verses that follows, how we need to continue to build on the foundation, which is Jesus Christ, and to build with care because in the end, whatever we build will be tested with fire. God’s quality control.

So going back to Isa 58, verse 10, there’s another thing that continues to be a theme in my life. “…[if you] spend yourselves [in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed]…” Don’t worry about being spent for God’s work because He promised in verse 11 [MSG] “I will always show you where to go. I’ll give you a full life in the emptiest of places— firm muscles, strong bones.” (‘firm muscles’ is symbolic of course hahah). Not that I’m super generous or giving, but as I’m learning to obey and put this into practice little by little, I can testify that God really does not leave me empty, and I’m not just talking about physical or material things.

This is a true promise that I want to learn to continue live in.

That in Him, I am a well watered garden and v.14 says I will truly enjoy knowing God…and I will delight in Him.

Even much more than I delight in Depo Bangunan or ACE =p

sand-house

Leave a Reply

